Scholarships for Pakistani Students
Scholarships, Jobs, Internships, Online Courses

15 University of York Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships in UK, 2017


The University of York has been awarded 15 Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships by the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission in the United Kingdom (CSCUK) for 10 students joining the online Masters in Public Policy and Management programme and 5 students joining the Masters of Public Administration – International Development programme, commencing their studies in September 2017.

The University of York is a research-intensive plate glass university located in the city of York, England. Established in 1963, the campus university has expanded to more than thirty departments and centres, covering a wide range of subjects

Degree Level: Scholarships are available for pursuing Masters Degree courses at University of York.

Available Subject: Scholarships are available in Public Policy and Management programme and Masters of Public Administration – International Development at University of York.

Number of Awards: 15 scholarships are available.

Scholarship Benefits: The awards themselves are funded by the Department for International Development (DFID).

Eligibility: Scholarships are available to applicants who meet all of the following criteria:

  • a citizen of a developing Commonwealth country, refugee, or British protected person
  • permanently resident in a developing Commonwealth country
  • hold a first degree of at least upper second class (2:1) standard. A lower qualification and sufficient relevant experience may be considered in certain cases
  • are working in or with public organisations, including NGO’s, aid agencies and local/national government departments, and can demonstrate throughout their application that they are working towards the Sustainable Development Goals
  • can dedicate at least 15 hours each week to their studies with a number of study sessions being over 2 hours in length
  • meet the University Entry Requirements for the programme (see the ‘Entry requirements’ on each course web page)

Eligible Nationalities: Students from following developing commonwealth countries can apply for these scholarships.

List of Countries: Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belize, Bermuda, Botswana, Cameroon, Cayman Islands, Dominica, Falkland Islands, Fiji, Ghana, Gibraltar, Grenada, Guyana, India, Jamaica, Kenya, Kiribati, Lesotho, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mauritius, Montserrat, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, Nigeria, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Pitcairn Islands, Rwanda, St Helena, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, St Vincent and The Grenadines, Samoa, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Swaziland, Tanzania, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Turks and Caicos, Tuvalu, Uganda, Vanuatu, Virgin Islands (British), Zambia and Zimbabwe


Test Requirement: No

Entrance Requirement: Full instructions for the Electronic Application System (EAS) are contained on the Scholarship Commission’s website. It is very important that you use the EAS and please do not apply directly to the University.  If their scholarship application is short-listed we will notify you at the appropriate time to apply to the university.  The scholarship application will ask they to provide email addresses for 2 referees.  When they submit their application to the EAS their referees will be contacted to ask them to provide and upload a reference.  They receive a huge volume of applications for these awards and therefore will only consider those applications supported by 2 references at the closing date (12th May) so please submit your application at least 1 week before the deadline to allow your referees time to write a letter for you.  Applicants are responsible to follow up with their referees to ensure letters are submitted.

Deadline: The application deadline is May 12, 2017.

Scholarship Link

Comments are closed.