E4D Continuing Education Scholarship for Candidates from Low-Income Countries in Switzerland, 2019

E4D Continuing Education Scholarship

Scholarship Description: Applications are invited for E4D Continuing Education Scholarship starting in January 1, 2019. Students from low-income countries are eligible to apply.

The goal of the programme is to enhance the knowledge and skills of future leaders with the perspective of contributing to capacity development and poverty reduction in their home countries.

Freedom and individual responsibility, entrepreneurial spirit and open-mindedness: ETH Zurich stands on bedrock of true Swiss values. Our university for science and technology dates back to the year 1855, when the founders of modern-day Switzerland created it as a centre of innovation and knowledge.

Degree Level: The E4D Continuing Education Scholarship Programme covers ETH Master of Advanced Studies (MAS), Diploma of Advanced Studies (DAS) and Certificate of Advanced Studies (CAS) programmes.

Available Subject: All MAS, DAS and CAS programmes at ETH Zurich are open for E4D Continuing Education Scholarships.

Scholarship Benefits: The E4D Continuing Education Scholarship covers the following expenses:

Economy round trip ticket (max. 2’000 CHF) 2

Visa fees

Living allowance for the duration of the programme: 2’000 CHF per month if the programme is longer than 3 weeks (full-time programme). 800 CHF per week if the programme duration is up to 3 weeks.3 4

ETH general tuition fee: 580 CHF per semester (in the form of a tuition fee waiver).

Eligible Nationalities: Students from low-income countries are eligible to apply:

Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, American Samoa, Angola, Argentina, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Belarus, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Cape Verde* (Capo Verde), Central African Republic, Chad, China, Colombia, Comoros, Congo, Dem. Rep., Congo, Rep., Costa Rica, Côte d’Ivoire, Cuba, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, Arab Rep., El Salvador, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Fiji, Gabon, Gambia, The Georgia, Ghana, Grenada, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Hong Kong, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Iran, Islamic Rep., Iraq, Jamaica, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kiribati, Korea, Dem Rep., Kosovo, Kyrgyz Republic, Lao PDR, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Macedonia, FYR, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia, Fed. Sts., Moldova, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nepal, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, Pakistan, Palau, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Romania, Rwanda, Samoa, São Tomé and Principe, Senegal, Serbia, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sri Lanka, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Sudan, Suriname, Swaziland, Syrian Arab Republic, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Togo, Tonga, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, Uganda, Ukraine, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Venezuela, RB, Vietnam, West Bank and Gaza, Yemen, Rep., Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Entrance Requirements: Applicants must meet the following criteria:

The candidate must hold a completed and recognised Master’s degree from a university and proof of professional working experience of at least 2 years.

The minimal English standard is TOEFL level C1.

The scholarship is open to candidates from countries classified as Least Developed Countries, Low Income Countries and Lower Middle Income Countries according to the DAC-list of the OECD 5. A list of eligible countries can be found in Attachment 1.

Moreover, the candidate must have been accepted to an ETH MAS, DAS or CAS programme based on his/her academic and professional qualifications.

Application Procedure: Applications must be submitted in electronic format to Patricia Heuberger, ETH Global: patricia.heuberger-at-sl.ethz.ch.

 Provide personal data, University Diploma and transcripts, CV and a motivation letter (to be specified).

The application process comprises two steps.

  1. Application to the selected MAS, DAS or CAS programme.
  2. Application to the E4D Continuing Education Scholarship Programme.

Note: Candidates will only be considered for an E4D Continuing Education Scholarship if admitted to an ETH MAS, DAS or CAS programme.

Step 1: Application to MAS, DAS or CAS programme

Consult the programme webpage and/or the programme management to receive information on the deadlines, application procedures and application documentation for the selected MAS, DAS or CAS programme.

Step 2: Application for the E4D Continuing Education Scholarship Application documentation:

» CV6 of the candidate

» MSc or Masters Diploma and academic transcript(s)

» Certificate of employment

» 1-2 page application letter, stating the motivation to attend the programme and the impact for the candidate’s career development and beyond.

» Two professional references

» Formal admission letter from the School for Continuing Education confirming that the candidate is admitted to the MAS, DAS or CAS programme (can be submitted after the application deadline).

Scholarship Link

Deadline: April 30, 2019 and November 30, 2019

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on facebook