Commonwealth Youth Awards ,Excellence in Development Work ,UK, 2013

Each year CYP of the Commonwealth Secretariat funds Commonwealth Youth Awards  in UK. Students of commonwealth countries are eligible for this award. Young  people between 15 and 29 years are eligible to apply. Applicants must be  involved in development work. Four finalists per Commonwealth region are  selected for Regional Winner Award and invited at an official ceremony. Top  regional winner applicant receiving the Pan Commonwealth Award. Send your  application electronically.

Study Subject(s): The award is provided to study in  Agriculture, small enterprise, skills training; Arts and culture; Education,  peer education; Enterprise development/youth employment; Climate  change/environment protection; Health and well being, including work on HIV/AIDS  ; Human rights and democracy; Information and communications technology;  Journalism, media, public awareness; Peace building; Science and Technology;  Sport for Development and Peace; Sustainable livelihoods and poverty  reduction. Course Level: This award is for youth workers for  driving innovative projects. Scholarship Provider:  Commonwealth Youth Programme (CYP) of the Commonwealth  Secretariat. Scholarship can be taken at: UK

Eligibility: Young people from the Commonwealth aged between  15 and 29 years are eligible for the awards. Grants will be awarded to advance  the work of the winners’ projects, with support from CYP on the best way to use  funding.

Scholarship Open for Students of Following Countries: The  Students of Commonwealth Countries ( Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Australia,  The Bahamas, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belize, Bermuda, Botswana, Brunei Darussalam,  Cameroon, Canada, Cayman Islands, Cyprus, Dominica, Falkland Islands, The  Gambia, Ghana, Gibraltar, Grenada, Guyana, India, Jamaica, Kenya, Kiribati,  Lesotho, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Malta, Mauritius, Montserrat, Mozambique,  Namibia, Nauru, New Zealand, Nigeria, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Rwanda, St  Helena, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, St Vincent and The Grenadines, Samoa,  Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Solomon Islands, South Africa, Sri Lanka,  Swaziland, Tanzania, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Turks and Caicos Islands,  Tuvalu, Uganda, United Kingdom, Vanuatu, Virgin Islands (British), Zambia) can  also apply for this UK Award.

Scholarship Description: The Commonwealth Youth Programme  (CYP), promotes the awards as an attempt to raise the profile and highlight the  contribution of young people who are integrally involved in the process of  change and are working side by side with decision-makers for more secure future.  The awards also give international, regional and national recognition to the  young men and women who are selected.

Number of awards offered: 16 regional finalists each  year, four from each region. There will be four finalists  per Commonwealth region with the top entry from each region receiving  a Regional Winner Award and the top regional winner receiving the  Pan Commonwealth Award.

Duration of award(s): Not Known

What does it cover? The regional finalists will each  receive a £1,000 grant, a trophy and a certificate. The regional winners will  receive an additional £2000, a trophy and a certificate and the Pan Commonwealth  winner will receive an extra £2000, a trophy and a certificate. The Regional  Winners from each region will be invited to receive their awards at an official  ceremony.

Selection Criteria: Quality of impact; · Level of  innovation/fresh approaches to problem-solving; · Quality of achievement by  the nominee; · Quality of the evidence provided. · Sustainability:  building the capacity of future generations to meet their own needs.

Notification:Finalists will be contacted directly. If  applicants do not hear from Commonwealth Secretariat, it means that their  nomination has not been successful. Regional finalists will be  announced  on 30 August 2013.

How to Apply: The mode of applying is electronically.

Scholarship Application Deadline: The deadline for  applications is 30th June 2013.

Further  Official Scholarship Information and Application

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on facebook